Design

Custom Americana Playing Cards

Hi. I’m back.

I’ve finally come out from that rock I’ve been hiding under for about a month or so. Kidding! I’ve been busy with schoolwork and designing these beauties.

final_cards_15final_cards_25final_cards_20final_cards_17final_cards_19final_cards_16final_cards_14final_cards_13final_cards_12 final_cards_11 final_cards_10 final_cards_9 final_cards_8 final_cards_4final_cards_28final_cards_31 final_cards_29final_cards_21

So I was tasked with creating a deck of playing cards using only letterforms from the Franklin Gothic typeface and my first response was “help!” I thought that only being able to use letters and numbers would be extremely limiting, but it turned out to be quite the contrary. I learned about a beautiful thing called overprinting – originally a technique achieved in printing, but now easily simulated in applications like Adobe Illustrator and InDesign. Being my first design project, I’m pretty pleased with how these turned out – it was a fun experience. But being a perfectionist, even I can say hand-cutting the rounded corners on 54 cards with an X-acto knife was not as fun.

I am also excited to launch a new set of posts in the coming months highlighting some of the talented artists and creators I get to work and study alongside every day, and some of my super creative friends who constantly make me think “man, I wish I’d thought of that first.” …I believe a little bit of “creativity envy” can be good for the soul. So be on the lookout over the next few weeks.

Stay golden.

V.

One thought on “Custom Americana Playing Cards

Leave a Reply

