Design

Adventures in Illustration and Book Design

123781011

 

The last publication I designed, I was lucky enough to use borrowed photographs and environmental portraits I took to accompany the copy. This time, I was tasked with generating all new imagery to accompany a short story or article. I’m a sucker for the classics, and I absolutely adore how Rifle Paper Co. has put out a range of beautifully illustrated classic children’s stories with their signature style. Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Caroll is such a well-loved story, and  there are many shortened versions available out there. Growing up in Australia, I was influenced also by the illustration style and short stories by May Gibbs, which led me to make this adaptation of Alice in Wonderland which takes place in Australia, the “wonderland” being the Aussie bush, filled with all the flora and fauna I grew up around. Just about every child who was raised in Australia remembers May Gibbs’ banksia men and snugglepot and cuddlepie, the little gumnut babies, so it felt natural to sort of merge the two narratives. I made all the illustrations using micron pens and watercolors, and then scanned them into Adobe Illustrator to tweak them and Adobe InDesign to place them in the book. Above is a sample of some of the pages.

V.

Leave a Reply

