Life / Photography

Emily + Phil // Engagements

emily_phil0030-cropemily_phil0001emily_phil0003emily_phil0108emily_phil0010emily_phil0011

emily_phil0088emily_phil0073emily_phil0089emily_phil0006

 

emily_phil0002emily_phil0075emily_phil0103emily_phil0015emily_phil0022emily_phil0096

emily_phil0030emily_phil0035emily_phil0041emily_phil0037

emily_phil0027emily_phil0056emily_phil0060

 

Last weekend, I had the immense pleasure of photographing my two good friends in celebration of their recent engagement. Emily and Phil met during their first year of college, and I have had the chance to see their relationship grow over the last several years. I was naturally very excited when they asked me to do their engagement photos, but also a little nervous – In all honesty, I have much less experience with directing couples from behind the camera than I do with individuals. Fortunately, they were such good sports – even through a location change and numerous minuscule posture change requests on my part – and the classic early evening summer light held out for us.

These last few months have been a whirlwind of back and forth travel, freelance gigs, art show prep, moving my life across the country and balancing a new full-time job (all things that I love) I would say that it is all too much to handle, but in all honesty I don’t think I could settle for being any less busy – and fulfilled – by all the things I get to do. My mum always used to tell me to be careful – that I might just get exactly what I want. I think she may be right.

V.

 

Leave a Reply

